Losing Creativity?

I worry that some shows are relying on past topics, movies, and shows to create play on stage. I just recently found while looking job listings in the theater community (hey, a girl can dream right?) and found that there is a search for male and female singers for Finding Nemo the Musical. Immediately I thought that I had read wrong. Really? I am all about this field and the various shows that are offered to be seen but in some ways I am a traditionalist.Some movies are not meant to become a musical, Finding Nemo is one of those movies. Is there going to be any new material? Is it all remakes and revivals?

This applies to movies as well, there are countless sequels, trilogies, and series out there now with very little creativity. I want to see something new.

Nevertheless, I am excited to understand what the motive was behind Finding Nemo the musical, was it The Little Mermaid? It also comes to mind that if further down the line, if it ever makes it to a real life Broadway stage it would likely become the first Pixar movie to be adapted into a Broadway musical. Although that it exciting I would have loved to kept that on my television screen.

Comments are closed.