Thanksgiving, a Broadway preview

My favorite part about Thanksgiving is the Macy’s Thanksgiving parade. Watching it bright and early takes me back to my childhood. Waking up on the cold November day to find my dad sitting on the couch with the parade paused at the performances and my mom already at work on the food preparation for the big dinner.This parade was always one of my first glimpses into what Broadway was.

I can remember not knowing who this painted green witch lady was and why she was singing in the middle of Times Square.

Only to later find out that Idina Menzel was in costume performing Defying Gravity from the original cast of Wicked.

Every single year there is a glimpse of what is on stage, in previews, or what has been acclaimed since last season.

This year, unfortunately I devastatingly missed the parade, almost entirely. In my older age compared to the beginning of my Macy’s Thanksgiving parade obsession it has become much more difficult to awake at 7:00 AM and it was up to me this time to record the filming ahead of time, and of course I had not.

I had to resort to Youtube clips of the Broadway performances and I learned that I love Noah Galvan as Evan Hansen, The Rockettes are still amazing, and I need to see Anastasia the Musical.

 

Comments are closed.